Directed Reading Program in Mathematics

The Directed Reading Program in Mathematics pairs undergraduate participants with graduate student mentors to read a selected math text/paper.  It is designed to give undergraduates the ability to explore topics they might not see in the standard curriculum in a fun and stress-free environment.

Aimed at UCSD undergraduate Mathematics majors, the program could be suitable for undergraduates from any major who would like to further explore the field - applicants must have completed (or be in the process of taking) one of the Math 100/200, 220, or 140/240 series.

For more information, please go to the DRP website

February 14, 2024

Congratulations to Hui Tan in receiving the Carol & George Lattimer Award

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 Carol & George Lattimer Award for Graduate Excellence math major recipient, Hui Tan!

January 4, 2024

Congratulations to Zhouli Xu as a recent recipient of the Frontiers of Science Awards

Congratulations to Zhouli Xu as a recent recipient of the Frontiers of Science Awards at the Inaugural International Congress of Basic Science (ICBS) Conference. Read more.

July 20, 2023

2022-23 TA Awards

The Mathematics department is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022-23 TA Awards

  • David Cavender - commended for his passion for teaching and concern for students as he took an active role in the courses he TA'd
  • Varun Khurana -  singled out for his dedication in developing real-world projects for students in Math 102
  • Richard Yi - nominated for his compassion, knowledge and organization; making countless worksheets and topic summaries for students in Math 109 and 154 
  • Wei Yin - was recommended for his ability to lead students towards a deeper appreciation of the beauty of Algebraic Number Theory

Please join us in celebrating this year's awardees!

July 7, 2023

2022-23 Powell Dissertation Awards

After review of the many applications, the Graduate Awards Committee congratulates the following three PhD students on being named recipients of the Powell Dissertation Award:

Rusiru Gambheera Arachchige (Advisor: Cristian Popescu)

Shubham Sinha (Advisor: Dragos Oprea)

Brian Tran (Advisor: Melvin Leok)

June 12, 2023

Statistics Student Recognized as Peer Mentor

Congratulations to Statistics MS student Teresa Rexin for being honored with the 2023 Outstanding Peer Mentor Award from the UC San Diego Graduate & Professional Student Association.  Part of the Mentorship Committee with the Association for Women in Mathematics, Teresa serves as a source of advice and wisdom to her colleagues.  Her willingness and ability to advise her fellow students on all issues of graduate life has greatly enhanced the experience of students in the Mathematics department.  Teresa will join other GPSA awardees at a ceremony on Thursday, May 18, 2023.

May 11, 2023

AWM at UCSD Recognized for EDI Excellence

The School of Physical Sciences has announced that the Association for Women in Mathematics at UC San Diego has been named a recipient of one of this year's Physical Sciences EDI Excellence Awards.  Re-established in the department in Fall 2019, AWM is a professional society whose mission is to encourage women and girls to study and have active careers in the mathematical sciences and to promote equal opportunity for and the equal treatment of women and girls in mathematics.  Congratulations to the members and board of AWM at UCSD.

April 21, 2023

Leesa Anzaldo and Ming Xiao receive the 2023 Distinguished Teaching Award

Two math faculty receive awards!  Leesa Anzaldo and Ming Xiao selected by the Academic Senate Committee on Senate Awards to receive the 2023 Distinguished Teaching Award.  Congratulations to you both!  Read more about the award

April 19, 2023

2022-23 Richard Libby Graduate Research Award

Congratulations to PhD student Myeonghun Yu (Advisor: Prof. Wenxin Zhou) for being awarded the 2022-23 Richard Libby Graduate Research Award.

April 5, 2023

Mathematics PhD Student Recognized as Integrity Champion

Congratulations to PhD student Gregory Patchell for being named one of two Integrity Champions for 2023 by the Research Ethics Program and Academic Integrity Office.  One of the Math department's two Senior TAs, who lead in the training and observation of new Teaching Assistants, Greg is being honored for his volunteer work on academic integrity.  The Integrity Awards celebration will take place April 19th at 5:30pm.  More information can be found here.

March 30, 2023